1867

The Legacy of the Gynn Pub & Restaurant

See Blue Plaque On Map See Location On Map

The original Gynn Inn in Blackpool, which dates back to 1715, closed its doors in 1921 and was demolished to make way for a new road and tramway layout. It was located roughly where Gynn Square roundabout is today and was one of Blackpool’s earliest hostelries. The building was originally a farmhouse, then became a grocer’s and beerhouse, and finally a public house. A blue plaque on the wall of the present-day Gynn Pub commemorates this history and the fact that the Duke of Cambridge, one of Blackpool’s first hotels, stood on this site as well.

Right opposite the Gynn is a unique Spitfire display, worth having a look.

Additional Images ©

Background Image ©

Text source:

Images by © Deeper Blue Marketing & Design Ltd